Penn State Castleman Group

Contact Webmaster
Updated August 14, 2012


A. W. Castleman, Jr.

Langmuir Award

Irving Langmuir Award in Chemical Physics - ACS, 2010
Member Chemical Sciences Roundtable of the NRC/NAS, 2012
Elected Liaison for Chemistry Section 14 of the National Academy of Sciences to the National Research Council, 2008 - 2011
Royal Society of Chemistry (Fellow), 2008
Thomas W. Phelan Fellows Award (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Alumni award), 2007
Elected Chair, Gordon Conference on Clusters, Nanocrystals, and Nanostructures, 2007
Elected Chair; Chemical Physics Division of the American Physical Society, 2006-2008
Adviser/Foreign Councilor to the Director General of the Institute for Molecular Sciences (Okazaki, Japan), 2005-2007
Conference Chair - Femtochemistry VII , Washington DC, 2005
Board of Chemical Sciences and Technology, National Research Council - Member and Chair, 2001 - 2006
Award of the Bunsen Gesellschaft (Chemical Society) and the Akadamic Der University Zu Goettingen, Germany - Wilhelm-Jost Memorial Lectureship 2000 (at the 7 universities of Jost's career), 2000
Invited Lecturer Nobel Symposium Physics and Chemistry of Clusters, 2000
Appointed Eberly Distinguished Chair in Science, 1999
Elected Member of the National Academy of Sciences, 1998
Elected Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1998
Elected Fellow of the New York Academy of Sciences, 1998
Elected Chair - Gordon Conference on Molecular and Ionic Clusters, first Gordon Conference held in Europe, Volterre, Italy, September 2-7, 1990.
Fulbright Senior Scholar Award, 1989
ACS Award for Creative Advances in Environmental Science and Technology, 1988
Journal of Physical Chemistry, Senior Editor, 1988 - 1998
Doktors Honoris Causa, University of Innsbruck, Austria, 1987
Named Evan Pugh Professor of Chemistry, 1986
U.S. Senior Scientist von Humboldt Award, 1986, 1987, 1998, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2011
Elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, 1985
Elected Fellow of the American Physical Society, 1985
National Science Foundation Creativity Award, 1985
Awardee Senior Scientist Fellow Japanese Society for the Promotion of Science 1985, 1997
Sherman Fairchild Distinguished Scholar, California Institute of Technology (for senior faculty/researchers), 1977